Early Music Online - British Library Research Repository
Shared Research Repository

Early Music Online



Access is provided via the Official URL. These digitised volumes contain approximately 10,000 musical compositions, which have been individually indexed. The volumes mainly consist of partbooks of vocal polyphony, but also include some early printed tablatures for keyboard or plucked string instruments. They include music printed in Italy, Germany, France and England. Early Music Online was funded by JISC’s 2011 Rapid Digitisation Programme.


There are 0 files associated with this work.


  • Resource type


  • Contributors
    • Butler, Katherine
      • ISNI
      • ORCID iD
    • Clements, James
      • ISNI
    • Davis, Ian
    • Drosopoulou, Loukia
      • ISNI
    • Hellen, Ruth
    • Laube, Matthew
    • Rodríguez-García, Esperanza
      • ISNI
    • Ridgewell, Rupert
      • ISNI
    • Patterson, Andra
    • Scobie, Chris
    • Summers, Mark
    • Vavoulis, Vassilis
      • ISNI
    • Woodhouse, Susi
      • ISNI
  • Institution
    • British Library

  • Organisational unit
    • Heritage Made Digital Programme

  • Project name
    • Early Music Online

  • Publisher
    • British Library

    • Royal Holloway University of London

  • Place of publication
    • London, UK

  • Official URL
  • Related URL
  • Rights statement
  • Rights holder
    • The British Library Board

  • Additional information
    • The digitised content is copyright © The British Library Board, and is made available for non-commercial use under the JISC Collections Open Education User Licence version 1.0. You may use the digitised content on Early Music Online in any way and for any such purposes that are conducive to education, teaching, learning, private study and/or research as long as you are in compliance with the terms and conditions of the licence. You may not use the content for commercial purposes. View licence at http://www.earlymusiconline.org/licence